H.R. No. 2089

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Zapata High School senior Lizbeth Martinez has been 2 named the 2010-2011 Youth of the Year by the U.S. Border Patrol; and 3 WHEREAS, The daughter of Hervey and Maria Martinez, this outstanding young Texan has demonstrated great 4 initiative 5 throughout her high school career; she is a member of the National Honor Society and the student council, and she has received 6 7 national recognition as a result of her participation in Zapata's Mariachi Halcon program; moreover, she has excelled at her studies, 8 earning "commended performance" on her TAKS exams; and 9

WHEREAS, Ms. Martinez has also brought her characteristic enthusiasm and drive to her community work, serving as a volunteer with the public library, the Boys and Girls Club, Operation Lone Star, and St. Jude Children's Research Hospital; after graduation, she plans to study computer engineering at The University of Texas--Pan American; and

16 WHEREAS, Lizbeth Martinez can reflect with pride on her 17 academic record, extracurricular achievements, and contributions 18 to her community, and she may indeed look with anticipation toward a 19 promising future; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 21 Legislature hereby congratulate Lizbeth Martinez on her selection 22 as the U.S. Border Patrol Youth of the Year for 2010-2011 and extend 23 to her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

1

H.R. No. 20891 prepared for Ms. Martinez as an expression of high regard by the2 Texas House of Representatives.

Guillen

H.R. No. 2089

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2089

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2089 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House