H.R. No. 2113

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The McKinney Police Department 9-1-1 dispatchers

have received the 2011 Team 9-1-1 Award of Merit from the Commission

3 on State Emergency Communications; and

4 WHEREAS, In granting this noteworthy honor, the CSEC

5 recognized the exceptional performance of the McKinney 9-1-1 call

6 takers on the morning of August 17, 2010; dispatch personnel

7 observed a large cloud of black smoke outside their building and

8 discovered that a truck was burning in the police department's

9 public parking lot; when police officers and firefighters

10 responded, the dispatchers heard loud pops and saw windows

11 shattering; and

2

13

12 WHEREAS, Their office building was taking gunfire, but the

dispatchers continued to process all of the phone calls and routine

14 radio traffic in the communications center while handling this

15 major incident as it unfolded around them; two dispatchers and

16 officers who had been walking in the front courtyard were trapped

17 under fire from a suspect with an assault rifle and the building was

18 locked down; the dispatchers were brought to safety, and after an

19 exchange of gunfire, the sniper was found dead; fortunately, no one

20 else was injured; and

21 WHEREAS, Throughout this ordeal, the dispatchers worked

22 diligently to protect the safety of firefighters, officers, two of

23 their fellow dispatchers, and members of the public; the

24 award-winning McKinney emergency call takers include

H.R. No. 2113

- 1 communications supervisor Sammye Cotton, CTO Andrew Griffin,
- 2 trainee Mayra Garcia, CTO Lindy Amedee, trainee Monica Wright,
- 3 specialist Danielle Decoudreaux, specialist Shantel Lorance,
- 4 specialist Shannon Moran, trainee Matthew Jones, trainee Bridget
- 5 Muniz, and trainee Amy Daniel; the teamwork and professionalism of
- 6 this dedicated crew contributed immeasurably to the positive
- 7 resolution of a dangerous situation, and its members' courage,
- 8 composure, and dedication indeed merit special recognition; now,
- 9 therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby congratulate the McKinney Police Department
- 12 9-1-1 dispatchers on their receipt of the 2011 Team 9-1-1 Award of
- 13 Merit from the Commission on State Emergency Communications and
- 14 commend them for their outstanding service; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the dispatchers as an expression of high regard by the
- 17 Texas House of Representatives.

Paxton

H.R. No. 2113

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2113 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House