H.R. No. 2117

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Renowned naval aviator and astronaut Captain Eugene
- 2 A. Cernan is visiting the State Capitol on May 23, 2011; and
- 3 WHEREAS, A native of Chicago, Captain Cernan holds degrees
- 4 from Purdue University and the Naval Postgraduate School; he was
- 5 one of 14 astronauts selected by NASA in 1963, and he went on to play
- 6 a significant role in the history of flight and space exploration;
- 7 and
- 8 WHEREAS, He served as the pilot of Gemini IX, and he twice
- 9 flew to the moon, first as the lunar module pilot of Apollo X, and
- 10 then as commander of Apollo XVII; he is the second American to walk
- 11 in space and the last man to have walked on the moon; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Captain Cernan has received numerous commendations
- 13 and awards over the course of his illustrious career, including the
- 14 Navy Distinguished Flying Cross, the Distinguished Service Medal
- 15 with star, and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration's
- 16 Distinguished Service Medal; moreover, he has been inducted into
- 17 the National Aviation Hall of Fame and the Naval Aviation Hall of
- 18 Honor, and he received the first Ambassador of Exploration Award
- 19 from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration; and
- WHEREAS, An inspiring example of leadership and service,
- 21 Captain Cernan has distinguished himself through his contributions
- 22 to the fields of aviation and space exploration, and it is indeed a
- 23 privilege to recognize him for his exceptional record of
- 24 achievement; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2117

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commend Captain Eugene A. Cernan for his
- 3 outstanding service to the nation and extend to him sincere best
- 4 wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Captain Cernan as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

J. Davis of Harris

H.R. No. 2117

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal	Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler
Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Erath	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 2117
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2117 was	adopted by the House on May 23,
2011, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House