By: Strama

H.R. No. 2122

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Concordia University baseball team won the 2011 2 American Southwest Conference championship with a triumphant 3 performance in the ASC tournament, which took place May 6 through 8 4 in Richardson; and

5 WHEREAS, In the opening game of the competition, Concordia 6 pitchers Colin Butschek and Ryan Ullmann combined to shut out 7 McMurry University 1-0 to advance to the winners bracket to face The 8 University of Texas at Dallas; in that contest, Justin Beasley had 9 three hits, including a home run, and four runs batted in, and Pedro 10 Maldonado threw his third complete game of the season to lead the 11 Tornados to an 8-3 win; and

WHEREAS, The back-to-back victories earned Concordia a place 12 in the title game, where they once again faced UTD; Mr. Beasley, 13 14 along with Robert Brown, provided the offensive firepower in the championship contest, driving in two runs apiece while winning 15 16 pitcher Scott Hays tossed six scoreless innings; the Tornados won by a score of 6-4 to claim the school's second ASC crown and an 17 invitation to the National Collegiate Athletic Association 18 Division III Tournament; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Befitting an outstanding season that saw Concordia 21 record 30 victories against 15 losses, 11 members of the squad were 22 accorded All-ASC West Division honors; in addition to receiving the 23 Player of the Year award, Collin Janssen was named to the first team 24 as a utility player and to the second team as a catcher, while

1

## H.R. No. 2122

Mr. Butschek was chosen as the Pitcher of the Year and was named to the first team; also receiving a first team nod was Matt McManemin, while Mr. Maldonado and Bucky Bryant were selected to the second team; Mr. Beasley, Mr. Brown, Mr. Ullmann, Colton Gommert, C. J. Riojas, and Bryant Hernandez received honorable mention accolades; and

7 WHEREAS, Concordia also benefited throughout the season from 8 the valuable contributions made by the other members of the roster: Kristopher Pearce, Ryan Gaze, Alec Carter, Zac Darling, Sean 9 10 Thompson, Russell Johns, Austin Rupert, Quinn Guest, Kyle Bieschke, Brent Schaekel, Nick Kozole, Jacob Spelbring, Gerry Morrison, Scott 11 12 Weinschenk, Bobby Jones, Stephen Kaminski, Cade Radley, Lance Thompson, Jason Wallingsford, Nolan McClosky, Alec Newman, Richard 13 Montemayor, Donny Fetzer, and Ryan Scott; and 14

15 WHEREAS, The Tornados were ably guided by head coach Tommy 16 Boggs and assistant coaches Scott Shepperd, Clint Mokry, Cory 17 Patton, and Carlos Perez, and additional support was provided by 18 head athletic trainer Megan Van Cleave and student assistant Micha 19 Runnels; and

20 WHEREAS, Winning a district championship represents the 21 culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering 22 commitment to excellence, and these talented student-athletes may 23 take justifiable pride in their notable accomplishments on the 24 diamond; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Concordia University baseball team on winning the 2011 American Southwest Conference championship

2

1 and extend to the players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes
2 for continued success; and, be it further

H.R. No. 2122

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 5 House of Representatives.

3