H.R. No. 2135

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Matthew Curtis was named the 2011 Austinite of the
Year at the Austin Under 40 Awards on February 26, 2011; and

3 WHEREAS, The awards are sponsored by Austin's Young Women's 4 Alliance and Young Men's Business League to pay tribute to emerging 5 leaders who excel in their professions and exhibit a solid 6 commitment to community service; Mr. Curtis was the award winner in 7 the category of government/public affairs; and

WHEREAS, Currently the communications director for Austin 8 Mayor Lee Leffingwell, Matt Curtis first became involved in 9 political action as a young boy when he distributed flyers 10 11 door-to-door in his hometown of Binghamton, New York; his family 12 moved to Round Rock when he was nine, and he attended the University of North Texas and then worked as a consultant on campaigns from 13 14 1996 to 2003 while he was employed as a media and film publicist; he was a special assistant to Austin's previous mayor, Will Wynn, from 15 2004 to 2006 and then served as assistant director of business and 16 community development at Capital Metro; and 17

18 WHEREAS, Mr. Curtis has contributed greatly to the 19 decommissioning of the Green Water Treatment Plant, the conversion 20 of Cesar Chavez Street to a two-way boulevard, and the city's 21 efforts during the Hurricane Katrina relief effort; known as a 22 problem solver, he works on Mayor Leffingwell's initiatives 23 relating to economic development and public works, and he is the 24 point of contact for the music, film, and interactive industries;

1

H.R. No. 2135 1 additionally, he represented the mayor during Austin's successful 2 effort to recruit Facebook; and

3 WHEREAS, This public-spirited citizen is a member of the 4 board of Students of the World, has served on the boards of Meals on 5 Wheels and More, Austin Pets Alive!, and the Heritage Society of 6 Austin, and has been active in publicity and fund-raising efforts 7 of Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Texas, the Rainforest 8 Project, and Art Alliance Austin, to name just a few; and

9 WHEREAS, Texas communities benefit immeasurably from the 10 dedication of committed individuals like Matt Curtis, who has 11 worked tirelessly in service to others, and he indeed merits 12 special recognition for his achievements; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Matthew Curtis on being named the 2011 Austinite of the Year at the Austin Under 40 Awards and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr. Curtis as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Rodriguez

2

H.R. No. 2135

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2135

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2135 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House