## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The 40th anniversary of the designation of the Texas 2 Sea Grant College Program is taking place in September 2011; and 3 WHEREAS, Created under the National Sea Grant College and Program Act, Texas Sea Grant was one of the first four initiatives 4 of its kind to be established in the nation; beginning operation in 5 1971, the program is located at Texas A&M University, and it works 6 7 to enlist the academic research community as well as engage coastal communities and provide marine education to people of all ages; and 8 WHEREAS, The program has awarded more than \$50 million in 9 competitive grants over the course of its history, and these funds 10 11 have allowed the state's best marine researchers to address 12 critical issues such as coastal erosion, harmful algal blooms, aquaculture, and coastal hazards; in its efforts to enable the 13 14 state's marine businesses to prosper while being environmentally sensitive, the program has pioneered many important projects, 15 including the implementation of efficient sea turtle excluder 16 devices in the trawling nets used by the state's commercial shrimp 17 fleet, which has helped to protect this endangered species; in 18 addition, Texas Sea Grant has served as a catalyst for progress on a 19 20 host of marine issues by bringing together diverse groups to solve 21 shared problems; moreover, one of its most successful outreach initiatives has been the Adopt-A-Beach cleanup events; and 22 23 WHEREAS, The exceptional work that has been made possible through the Texas Sea Grant College Program has helped foster the 24

H.R. No. 2163

- 1 wise use and conservation of the marine environment of the Lone Star
- 2 State, helping to ensure that the Texas coast will remain a valuable
- 3 resource for future generations; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby commemorate the 40th anniversary of the Texas
- 6 Sea Grant College Program and commend all those affiliated with the
- 7 organization for their dedicated service; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the program as an expression of high regard by the
- 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Brown

## H.R. No. 2163

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 2163	
	Speaker of the House	
I certify that H.R. No. 2163 was	adopted by the House on May 21,	
2011, by a non-record vote.		

Chief Clerk of the House