H.R. No. 2194

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, In a dramatic display of skill and determination,
- 2 the girls' track and field team of C. H. Yoe High School in Cameron
- 3 won the 2011 University Interscholastic League 2A championship at
- 4 the state meet on May 13 and 14; and
- 5 WHEREAS, In claiming their school's first team title since
- 6 1981, the Yoe High athletes finished with 50 points, besting
- 7 runner-up Marlin High School, which tallied 46; leading the way for
- 8 the Lady Yoe was Maeson Mondrik, who won gold, silver, and bronze
- 9 medals at the meet; her burst of speed in the anchor leg of the
- 10 800-meter relay clinched the event for the team, after Tonittiah
- 11 Williams, Brook Brashear, and Keandra Jones had recorded fast times
- 12 in the first three legs of the race; and
- WHEREAS, Ms. Williams, Ms. Brashear, Ms. Mondrik, and Jamecia
- 14 Smith teamed up to finish third in the 400-meter relay while Martha
- 15 Bustamante claimed third in the 800 meters and fourth in the 1,600;
- 16 Ms. Mondrik closed out the scoring with a silver medal in the
- 17 100-meter dash; and
- WHEREAS, The success attained by the members of the C. H. Yoe
- 19 girls' track and field team is a testament to their hard work and
- 20 commitment to excellence, and they are a source of tremendous pride
- 21 to their coach, Linda Richter, their classmates, and their many
- 22 supporters in the community; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate the C. H. Yoe High School girls'

H.R. No. 2194

- 1 track and field team on winning the 2011 UIL 2A state championship
- 2 and extend to the team's runners, coaches, and staff sincere best
- 3 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Schwertner

H.R. No. 2194

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2194 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House