H.R. No. 2242

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, April 27, 2011, marked the 60th wedding anniversary 2 of Jake and Bettye Tucker of West, providing a fitting opportunity 3 to reflect on their memorable journey together as husband and wife; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, Jake Tucker and the former Bettye Shockley were 6 joined in matrimony in 1951 at the First Baptist Church in Mart; 7 through the years, they have been blessed with a treasured family 8 that includes three daughters, Gayle Gardner, Kaye Tucker, and Anne 9 Flores, as well as three grandchildren, Mike and Sarah Gardner and 10 Cameron Flores, and four great-granddaughters; and

11 WHEREAS, Respected members of their community, Mr. and Mrs. 12 Tucker both graduated from Baylor University with bachelor's degrees in business administration; now the proprietors of J&B 13 14 Realty, Mr. Tucker owned the West Lumber Company for 55 years and Mrs. Tucker worked in her husband's business for more than four 15 decades; Mr. Tucker is a member of the Kiwanis Club and a retired 16 volunteer firefighter, while Mrs. Tucker belongs to the Chi Omega 17 alumni group and the Elizabeth Gordan Bradley Chapter of the 18 Daughters of the American Revolution; they are valued congregants 19 20 of the First Baptist Church of West; and

21 WHEREAS, The 60 years of marriage that Mr. and Mrs. Tucker 22 have shared is eloquent affirmation of the meaning of love and 23 commitment, and their enduring union is an inspiration to all who 24 know them; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 2242

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Jake and Bettye Tucker on their 3 60th wedding anniversary and extend to them sincere best wishes for 4 continued happiness; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Tucker as an expression of high regard by 7 the Texas House of Representatives.

Anderson of McLennan

H.R. No. 2242

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2242 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House