H.R. No. 2246

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Family and friends will long cherish their memories 2 of Benjamin Aviles of McGregor, who passed away on April 8, 2011, at 3 the age of 80; and

WHEREAS, Born on July 2, 1930, in Seguin, Ben Aviles was the son of Miguel and Virginia Aviles; he worked with the Santa Fe Railroad and in farming before beginning a notable career with the City of McGregor Public Works Department that spanned 28 years; active in his community, he was a former member of the Mexican American Association Hall in McGregor; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Aviles married Cecilia Lucio on October 4, 1952, 10 11 a ceremony held in Waco; the couple shared a rewarding at 12 relationship and became the parents of eight children, Victor, Daniel, Adam, Diana, Virginia, Angela, Tommie, and Elma; with the 13 14 passing years, they saw their family grow to include 17 grandchildren, 16 great-grandchildren, 15 and а 16 great-great-grandchild; and

WHEREAS, Although Ben Aviles will be deeply missed, he will always be remembered with great affection by all those who held him dear; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 21 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Benjamin Aviles and 22 extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, 23 Cecilia Aviles; to his sons, Victor, Daniel, and Adam Aviles; to his 24 daughters, Diana Zapata and her husband, Jose, Virginia Salazar and

1

H.R. No. 2246

1 her husband, Carlos, Angela Cruz and her husband, Mario, and Tommie 2 Estrada and her husband, Steven; to his 17 grandchildren, his 16 3 great-grandchildren, and his great-great-grandchild; and to his 4 other relatives and friends; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House 7 of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Ben 8 Aviles.

Anderson of McLennan

H.R. No. 2246

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2246 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 30, 2011.

Chief Clerk of the House