H.R. No. 2360

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Mary Bello, a seventh-grader at the Girls and Boys
- 2 Preparatory Academy in Houston, won the inaugural African American
- 3 National Spelling Bee Championships on May 14, 2011, in Houston;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, The goal of the African American National Spelling
- 6 Bee Championships is to improve the spelling skills of African
- 7 American middle school students, which in turn helps them to raise
- 8 their reading level and expand their vocabulary; by preparing for
- 9 the spelling bee, young people develop confidence and discipline,
- 10 traits that are necessary to excel academically; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Students from across Houston competed in two rounds
- 12 of spelling bees for the opportunity to go to the main event; after
- 13 advancing through the regional competition, Mary Bello took first
- 14 place at the championships, and she was sponsored for the contest by
- 15 her teacher, Brenda Upton; and
- 16 WHEREAS, This notable young Texan has distinguished herself
- 17 with her hard work, determination, and poise under pressure, and
- 18 she may indeed look forward to a future that is bright with promise;
- 19 now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby congratulate Mary Bello on winning the African
- 22 American National Spelling Bee Championships and extend to her
- 23 sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it
- 24 further

H.R. No. 2360

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Mary Bello as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 3 House of Representatives.

Elkins

## H.R. No. 2360

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 2360		
	Speaker of the House		
I certify that H.R. No. 2360 was	adopted by the House on May 26,		
oy a non-record vote.			

Chief Clerk of the House

2011, by a non-record vote.