H.R. No. 2365

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The community of Raymondville lost one of its most
 beloved residents with the death of Fernando Ramirez on May 14,
 2011, at the age of 71; and

WHEREAS, A native of Sarita, "Freddy" Ramirez was born on May 11, 1940, to Emilio and Natalia Ramirez; he shared more than half a century of marriage with his wife, Angelita, and he was devoted to his sons, Mike, David, and Ronnie; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Ramirez worked for many years at Brown & Haynes 8 9 before serving his community as a volunteer firefighter with the Raymondville Fire Department, where his skill and dedication 10 11 ultimately earned him the position of fire marshal and chief; a 12 leader in his profession, he was elected to the executive board of the Rio Grande Valley Firefighter's & Fire Marshals' Association, 13 14 and in 1999 he was named Texas State Firefighter of the Year; active in his church and the Knights of Columbus Council, he further 15 16 contributed to the city as a longtime member of the Raymondville School Board; and 17

18 WHEREAS, Deeply committed to his family and his community, 19 Freddy Ramirez made a meaningful difference in the lives of his 20 loved ones and fellow citizens alike, and his contributions will be 21 fondly remembered for years to come; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Fernando "Freddy" Ramirez and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to

1

H.R. No. 2365

1 his wife, Angelita Ramirez; to his sons, Mike Ramirez and his wife,
2 Missy, and David and Ronnie Ramirez; to his grandsons, Gabriel and
3 Daniel Ramirez; to his brother, Raul Ramirez; and to his other
4 relatives and many friends; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 7 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Freddy 8 Ramirez.

Lozano

H.R. No. 2365

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2365 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 30, 2011.

Chief Clerk of the House