By: Woolley

H.R. No. 2368

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, In recognition of her expert response to a difficult 2 9-1-1 call, LaKesha Hammonds of the Memorial Villages Police 3 Department has been named a 2011 Telecommunicator of the Year by the 4 Commission on State Emergency Communications; and

5 WHEREAS, The CSEC annually honors a select set of 6 professionals for their exemplary handling of a specific emergency 7 call; and

8 WHEREAS, On October 1, 2010, Ms. Hammonds took a call from a 9 mother in distress, who said that her 13-year-old daughter had run 10 away; Ms. Hammonds dispatched officers to talk to the mother, who 11 said her daughter had not been at school when she went to pick her up 12 that afternoon; and

WHEREAS, Through a series of subsequent calls with the mother and several of the girl's friends, Ms. Hammonds learned that the girl had talked about running away on a social networking site; Ms. Hammonds also learned that the girl had a cell phone with her, and she immediately asked the wireless provider to help locate the phone; and

WHEREAS, The girl was eventually discovered with an adult companion near the Mexican border; the two were stopped by the U.S. Border Patrol and taken into custody by the Del Rio Police Department, and the girl was promptly returned to her grateful mother; and

24

WHEREAS, Through her sound judgment, quick thinking, and

1

1 persistence, LaKesha Hammonds helped ensure a positive conclusion 2 to a potentially devastating situation, and she is indeed deserving 3 of this prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2368

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate LaKesha Hammonds on her receipt of a 2011 Telecommunicator of the Year award from the Commission on State Emergency Communications and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success with her important work; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for Ms. Hammonds as an expression of high regard by the 12 Texas House of Representatives.

2