H.R. No. 2423

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, KEW Learning Academy is holding its annual Profiles
 of Prominence Awards Banquet on June 3, 2011, in Houston; and

3 WHEREAS, Benefiting youth of the greater Fifth Ward 4 community, KEW (Knowledge-Enthusiasm-Work) Learning Academy offers 5 at-risk students a rigorous education in a supportive environment, 6 helping them to acquire a strong academic foundation in the areas of 7 science, technology, engineering, and mathematics; and

8 WHEREAS, Each year, the institution pays tribute to dedicated teachers and staff whose efforts have touched the lives of young 9 Houstonians; the 2010-2011 award recipients include Key Middle 10 11 School teacher Charisma Edwards, teacher and recruiter for Houston 12 Community College Marcus Glenn, Austin High School teacher Alanis Marciona, Girls and Boys Preparatory Academy secondary teacher 13 14 Joshua Wiley, KEW Learning Academy community education volunteer Annette Wiley, Madison High School teacher Claudette Eley-Coyle, 15 16 Dowling Middle School teacher Daphne Charles, Key Middle School teacher Angela Glover, Elliott Elementary School teacher Kendra 17 Griffith, Reagan High School teacher Patricia Smalling, retired 18 HISD instructional technology manager Loretta Ausbie, Beatrice 19 Mayes Institute elementary teacher Eric Wright, Prairie View A&M 20 21 University department head Dr. Edward Mason, Prairie View A&M University professor Willie Adams, and HISD secondary science 22 23 curriculum specialist Yolanda Smith Evans; and

24

WHEREAS, There is no work more important than educating the

1

H.R. No. 2423 1 young people of Texas, and these exceptional men and women are 2 indeed deserving of special recognition for their commitment to 3 furthering academic excellence; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate the honorees of the 2011 KEW
Learning Academy Profiles of Prominence Awards Banquet and commend
them for their notable work in behalf of Texas youth; and, be it
further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for the award recipients as an expression of high regard by 11 the Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

2

H.R. No. 2423

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2423

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2423 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House