H.R. No. 2427

## By: McClendon

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Ten students from The University of Texas at San 2 Antonio have provided valuable support to the Texas Legislature as 3 members of the UTSA Legislative Scholars Program, and as the 82nd 4 Legislative Session draws to a close, it is indeed appropriate to 5 recognize these dedicated interns; and

6 WHEREAS, Created in 2004, the UTSA Legislative Scholars 7 Program is a collaborative initiative between State Representative 8 Ruth Jones McClendon and the UTSA Institute for Law and Public 9 Affairs; the program, also known as McClendon Scholars, gives 10 undergraduate and graduate students the opportunity to serve as 11 interns in the Texas House of Representatives and Senate during 12 regular legislative sessions; and

WHEREAS, Participants are selected based on academic credentials as well as such criteria as good judgment, independent thinking, and professionalism, and they perform a number of essential tasks, including research, analysis, writing, and corresponding with constituents; and

WHEREAS, The Class of 2011, which is the largest group since the program's founding, includes: Murtuza Hussain and Michael Johnson, who served in the office of Representative McClendon, Czara Venegas, who served in the office of Representative Dawnna Dukes, Benjamin Barkley, who served in the office of Representative Lois Kolkhorst, Allison Hughes, who served in the office of Representative Jose Menendez, Rey Milan, who served in the office

1

H.R. No. 2427

1 of Representative J. M. Lozano, Margie Alfaro, who served in the 2 office of Senator Judith Zaffirini, Deborah Seriki, who served in 3 the office of Representative Roberto Alonzo, Sandra Morales, who 4 served in the office of Representative Armando Martinez, and Tyler 5 Rutherford, who served in the office of Speaker Joe Straus; and

6 WHEREAS, These dedicated students have provided vital 7 support services to the legislature throughout the session while 8 gaining important firsthand experience in government, and it is a 9 pleasure to recognize the contributions of these accomplished young 10 men and women; now, therefore, be it

11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 12 Legislature hereby commend the 2011 UTSA Legislative Scholars 13 Program on its largest class of interns to date and extend to its 14 participants sincere best wishes for success in all their 15 endeavors; and, be it further

16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 17 prepared for the interns as an expression of high regard by the 18 Texas House of Representatives.

2