H.R. No. 2475

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Corporal Jeremie J. Atilano, Deputy Ryan 2 M. Connelly, Sergeant Deputy David B. "Bryan" McGee, and Deputy 3 Manuel Valdez III of the Ellis County Sheriff's Office have been 4 awarded the 2010 State of Texas Law Enforcement Achievement Award 5 for Valor from the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer 6 Standards and Education; and

7 WHEREAS, On June 22, 2010, these four officers responded to a 8 call about a woman trapped in a burning car; the car was engulfed in 9 flames when they arrived, and they could hear the screams of the 10 woman inside; and

WHEREAS, The men emptied their fire extinguishers into the 11 12 fire, and then, acting decisively and at great risk to themselves, they took turns going into the flames to attempt to free the woman, 13 14 who was trapped by a jammed seat belt and car door; at the same time, using empty ice chests provided by passersby, the deputies scooped 15 16 water out of a nearby ditch to douse the vehicle, the woman, and each other; working in concert, they were finally able to pull the 17 18 woman free of the car; and

WHEREAS, Faced with a desperate situation, Corporal Atilano, Deputies Connelly and Valdez, and Sergeant Deputy McGee placed themselves in considerable danger to attempt to save the life of another person, and their skill, determination, and heroism have earned them the appreciation and admiration of their fellow Texans; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 2475

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Corporal Jeremie J. Atilano, 3 Deputy Ryan M. Connelly, Sergeant Deputy David B. "Bryan" McGee, 4 and Deputy Manuel Valdez III on their receipt of the 2010 State of 5 Texas Law Enforcement Achievement Award for Valor and extend to 6 them sincere appreciation for their steadfast bravery and 7 unwavering dedication to duty; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Corporal Atilano, Deputy Connelly, Sergeant Deputy 10 McGee, and Deputy Valdez as an expression of high regard by the 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Pitts

H.R. No. 2475

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2475 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House