By: Christian H.R. No. 2477

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The University of Texas School of Law has won the

2 2011 John L. Costello National Criminal Law Trial Advocacy

3 Competition; and

WHEREAS, Hosted this year by George Mason University School

5 of Law in Fairfax, Virginia, from February 10 through 13, the

6 Costello competition differs from many other mock trial contests in

7 that each school represents only one side of the case, and unknown

8 facts and witnesses are revealed as the competition progresses; the

9 UT Costello mock trial team represented the prosecution in its case

10 against a hypothetical 21-year-old woman charged with DWI and

11 involuntary manslaughter; and

12 WHEREAS, Members of the UT Costello competition mock trial

team were third-year students Robert Clopton and Lauren Sprouse and

14 second-year students Tony McDonald and Bryan Acklin; coaching the

15 team were Jay Adkins, a 1982 UT law school alumnus who serves as an

16 assistant attorney general in the Medicaid Fraud Control Unit of

17 the Office of the Attorney General of Texas, and Ciara Williams, a

18 2007 alumna of the law school who maintains her own practice in

19 Austin; the team was sponsored by the UT law school Advocacy

20 Program; and

13

21 WHEREAS, This year is the first time that The University of

22 Texas has participated in the Costello competition and also the

23 first time that Mr. Adkins and Ms. Williams have coached an

24 interscholastic mock trial team; and

H.R. No. 2477

- 1 WHEREAS, The members of the UT Costello mock trial team
- 2 showed great poise and skill, winning each round of the competition
- 3 before beating the team from Catholic University in the final round
- 4 to bring home the national title; and
- 5 WHEREAS, In honor of the Costello mock trial team and The
- 6 University of Texas School of Law Advocacy Program, The University
- 7 of Texas lighted the entire tower in orange on the night of April
- 8 20, 2011, and displayed the number 1 in white lights on each side of
- 9 the building; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The Costello competition demands rigorous
- 11 preparation and outstanding persuasive skill, and the members of
- 12 the UT team may indeed take justifiable pride in their impressive
- 13 achievement; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 15 Legislature hereby honor Robert Clopton, Lauren Sprouse, Tony
- 16 McDonald, Bryan Acklin, Jay Adkins, and Ciara Williams and The
- 17 University of Texas School of Law Advocacy Program on winning the
- 18 national championship in the 2011 John L. Costello National
- 19 Criminal Law Trial Advocacy Competition and extend to the team
- 20 members and coaches and all those associated with the Advocacy
- 21 Program sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 22 further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 25 House of Representatives.