H.R. No. 2545

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Dr. Melody Johnson has rendered exceptional public
 service as superintendent of the Fort Worth Independent School
 District; and

WHEREAS, Since joining the Fort Worth ISD in 2005, Dr. Johnson has led the establishment of a new curriculum, instituted measures of accountability and sound business practices, and worked to make Fort Worth a "digital district"; she has also created an Office of Parent Engagement; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Johnson earned a bachelor's degree in sociology 9 from Phillips University in Enid, Oklahoma, a master's degree in 10 supervision and education of the gifted child from Texas Woman's 11 12 University, and a doctorate in educational administration from The University of Texas at Austin; she has served as a senior director 13 14 at the Texas Education Agency, as an associate superintendent for curriculum, instruction, and student support in the San Antonio 15 16 Independent School District, and as the superintendent of schools for Providence, Rhode Island; in 2002, she was one of 22 individuals 17 from across the nation selected to take part in a 10-month executive 18 development initiative sponsored by the Broad Center for the 19 20 Management of School Systems; and

21 WHEREAS, A highly accomplished administrator, Dr. Melody 22 Johnson has led the way in fostering a supportive and challenging 23 educational environment in the Fort Worth ISD, and her hard work and 24 dedication have benefited many area schoolchildren; now,

1

H.R. No. 2545

1 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature hereby commend Melody Johnson for her service as
superintendent of the Fort Worth Independent School District and
extend to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Dr. Johnson as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Shelton

H.R. No. 2545

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2545 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House