H.R. No. 2563

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, GEAR UP, or Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness
 for Undergraduate Programs, has contributed greatly to the success
 of the 2011 graduating class at Lufkin High School; and

WHEREAS, This federally funded grant program prepares students for college entrance requirements, introduces them to the application process, and provides guidance about financing their studies; and

8 WHEREAS, Members of the Lufkin High Class of 2011 have been 9 involved with GEAR UP since they were in the seventh grade, and the 10 program's long-term approach has paid rich dividends; each of the 11 school's more than 500 graduating seniors has been admitted to a 12 university, college, vocational or technical school, or a branch of 13 the military, and collectively, they have earned more than \$3.6 14 million in scholarships; and

15 WHEREAS, This exceptional class has received able guidance 16 from GEAR UP coordinator Jennifer Williams, College Go Center 17 counselor Lyndia Austin, Lufkin High School principal Mark Smith, 18 and Lufkin ISD superintendent Roy Knight; and

WHEREAS, The GEAR UP program has provided important resources to students at Lufkin High, enabling these outstanding young Texans to fully explore the opportunities available to them and to look to the future with anticipation and optimism; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
 Legislature hereby honor all those associated with the GEAR UP

1

H.R. No. 2563 1 program at Lufkin High School and extend to the members of the 2011 2 graduating class sincere best wishes for continued success in all 3 their endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

White

H.R. No. 2563

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2563

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2563 was adopted by the House on May 29, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House