By: Reynolds

H.R. No. 2576

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Chief Doug Brinkley of the Sugar Land Police
 Department has rendered outstanding public service; and

3 WHEREAS, Chief Brinkley brings to his office extensive 4 experience in the field; he served two years with the Detroit Police 5 Department and 14 years with the Grand Rapids Police Department, 6 both in Michigan, as well as nearly a decade with the U.S. Army 7 Reserve; he joined SLPD in 2005 as assistant chief of police and was 8 promoted to chief of police in October 2009; and

9 WHEREAS, Under his leadership, the department has implemented a radio communications interoperability project and 10 11 introduced the use of Tasers; in addition, it was awarded a \$165,000 12 grant to upgrade dispatch consoles; Chief Brinkley has also overseen efforts to enact a residency restriction ordinance for 13 14 registered sex offenders and to enhance the visibility of patrol vehicles; and 15

WHEREAS, Chief Brinkley holds a bachelor's degree in business 16 management from the University of Phoenix and a master's degree in 17 criminal justice from Boston University, and he is a graduate of the 18 FBI National Academy and the Senior Management Institute for 19 Police; active in his profession, he belongs to the International 20 21 Association of Chiefs of Police, the National Organization of Black 22 Law Enforcement Executives, and the Texas Police Chiefs 23 Association; and

24

WHEREAS, Throughout his distinguished tenure, Chief Brinkley

1

H.R. No. 2576

1 has exemplified the highest ideals of law enforcement and 2 contributed immeasurably to the safety and well-being of Sugar Land 3 residents; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature hereby commend Chief Doug Brinkley of the Sugar Land
Police Department for his noteworthy public service and extend to
him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Chief Brinkley as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.