RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Through their outstanding accomplishments 2 business and community service, Roosevelt Petry, Jr., and Marlene Petry have distinguished themselves as admirable civic leaders who 3 have made valuable contributions in the Port Arthur area and 4 5 beyond; and 6 WHEREAS, Mr. Petry earned a bachelor's degree from Lamar 7 University and then founded GP Industrial Contractors, Inc., which specializes in construction, engineering, and maintenance work on 8 9 refinery and petrochemical plants; he and Marlene were married in 1987, and Mrs. Petry later decided to pursue a career in nursing; 10

12 University in 1995, she went on to obtain a bachelor's degree from 13

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston and a master's

after earning an associate's degree in that field from Lamar

14 degree in nursing education from Regis University; she worked as an

intensive care nurse in Stafford and as an education resource 15

16 specialist at Memorial Hermann Hospital in Houston and presently

serves as the senior vice president of GP Industrial Contractors; 17

18 and

11

WHEREAS, This dedicated couple has placed an emphasis on 19 20 giving back to the community; Mr. Petry has served as 21 commissioner and a committee and board member for numerous agencies and organizations, including the Port Arthur Housing Authority, the 22 23 Port Arthur Economic Development Corporation, the United Way, Junior Achievement, and the Clean Community Commission; his 24

- 1 willingness to share his knowledge with others has been
- 2 demonstrated through his work as an instructor at Lamar University
- 3 and as the host of a radio show on business on KSAP 107.1;
- 4 Mrs. Petry is a very active member of the congregation at the Fort
- 5 Bend Church in Sugar Land, serving on several volunteer ministries
- 6 and helping coordinate youth activities and the church's annual
- 7 scholarship fund-raiser; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Together, Mr. and Mrs. Petry are generous
- 9 supporters of a vast array of charitable initiatives, including an
- 10 endowed scholarship at Lamar State College-Port Authur for nursing
- 11 and engineering students; in addition, GP Industrial Contractors
- 12 helped in rebuilding the town of Sabine Pass following Hurricane
- 13 Rita, working in conjunction with the television program Extreme
- 14 Makeover: Home Edition; and
- WHEREAS, The notable efforts made by the Petrys are greatly
- 16 appreciated by their fellow citizens and have been honored with a
- 17 number of well-deserved awards; this inspiring husband and wife
- 18 team have made a positive difference in the lives of many residents
- 19 of the Gulf Coast region, and it is a pleasure to recognize them for
- 20 their exceptional commitment and leadership; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby honor Roosevelt Petry, Jr., and Marlene Petry
- 23 for their significant business and community service achievements
- 24 and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success in all
- 25 their endeavors; and, be it further
- 26 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 27 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Petry as an expression of high regard by

1 the Texas House of Representatives.

Deshotel

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 2603		
	Speaker of the House		
I certify that H.R. No. 2603 was	adopted by the House on May 27,		
by a non-record vote.			

Chief Clerk of the House

2011, by a non-record vote.