RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Emergency Medical Services Academy at the Val 2 Verde Regional Medical Center works to improve the availability and 3 quality of pre-hospital emergency medical care in the Del Rio area; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, Approved as an advanced training center through the 6 Texas Department of State Health Services, the academy provides 7 initial EMS certification courses, preparing EMT students for the 8 National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians certification 9 exam and subsequent certification by the state; it also serves as a 10 site for clinical and field internships; and

11 WHEREAS, The EMS Academy provides continuing education for 12 medical, nursing, and ancillary staff as well; as a training center 13 for the American Heart Association, it offers courses on basic and 14 advanced cardiac life support and on pediatric life support; and

WHEREAS, Ably led by director Susie Jechow, a recipient of the 2005 EMS Educator Award, the EMS Academy is ensuring that Del Rio area citizens enjoy the benefits of a skilled and well-educated force of first responders and health care professionals, and the academy's many initiatives are indeed worthy of commendation; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby recognize the Val Verde Regional Medical Center Emergency Medical Services Academy for its contributions to the Del Rio area and extend to all those associated with the academy sincere

1

1 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for the academy as an expression of high regard by the 4 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2618 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House