## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Honorable Jose A. Aranda, Jr., served with great
distinction as Maverick County judge from 2003 to 2010; and

3 WHEREAS, During his tenure, "Pepe" Aranda worked closely with members of the commissioners court and state and federal officials 4 5 on a number of important initiatives, including the establishment of a new water plant and distribution system for the northern parts 6 of the county; the construction of a 650-bed detention center 7 created 180 new jobs, and millions of dollars in state funding were 8 9 secured for colonia paving projects; moreover, Mr. Aranda led emergency management recovery efforts after a tornado destroyed 10 11 more than 300 homes; and

12 WHEREAS, Mr. Aranda began his career in public service in 13 1998 as mayor of Eagle Pass, serving from 1998 to 2002; over the 14 course of his four years in that office, he guided the effort to build a \$103 million regional potable and waste water system, and he 15 secured funding for the construction of a new 43,000-square-foot 16 convention center and assisted in its design; he also initiated 17 Leadership Eagle Pass, oversaw the completion of the second 18 International Bridge, and promoted business development that 19 20 brought thousands of jobs to the community; and

21 WHEREAS, A graduate of Sul Ross University, Mr. Aranda earned 22 his bachelor's degree in business administration; he worked for HEB 23 for 20 years before shifting to the dairy business as an 24 owner/operator with Borden in 1993; in addition, he enjoyed success

1

1 as the proprietor of Villarreal Chicharrones; and

2 WHEREAS, Since leaving office, Mr. Aranda has served as 3 special projects coordinator for the Kickapoo Traditional Tribe of Texas, and he is a board member of the tribe's Housing Authority, 4 Kickapoo Empire, L.L.C., and Kickapoo Community Development 5 Corporation; through the years, he has also served as a member of 6 the State Community Development Review Committee, as a board member 7 8 of the Texas Political Subdivisions Insurance Pool, as a voting member of the Region M Rio Grande Water Planning Group, and in a 9 10 number of other leadership roles; and

11 WHEREAS, Pepe Aranda has made a lasting, positive difference 12 in Maverick County, and he may indeed take pride in his many 13 noteworthy contributions as county judge; now, therefore, be it

14 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 15 Legislature hereby honor Jose A. "Pepe" Aranda, Jr., for his 16 service as Maverick County judge and extend to him sincere best 17 wishes for the future; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for Mr. Aranda as an expression of high regard by the Texas 20 House of Representatives.

Gallego

2

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2620 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House