H.R. No. 2661

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, September 1, 2011, marks the 50th anniversary of the
- 2 establishment of the Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage
- 3 Lending; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Created to regulate Texas savings and loan
- 5 institutions, the Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending was
- 6 subsequently assigned regulatory oversight of state savings banks,
- 7 mortgage bankers, mortgage companies, and their loan officers; its
- 8 purview now includes the vast majority of residential mortgage
- 9 lending in Texas through its responsibilities for the chartering,
- 10 regulation, and supervision of the state's thrift industry and for
- 11 the licensing/registration and regulation of the state's mortgage
- 12 industry; and
- WHEREAS, The department is guided today by its eighth
- 14 commissioner, Douglas B. Foster; under his skilled leadership, the
- 15 dedicated staff works diligently to protect the financial interests
- 16 of depositors, creditors, and borrowers while remaining accessible
- 17 and responsive to the public, the industry, public officials, and
- 18 other government agencies; and
- 19 WHEREAS, By aggressively enforcing the state's statutes,
- 20 rules, and regulations, the Texas Department of Savings and
- 21 Mortgage Lending promotes public confidence, protects consumers,
- 22 and fosters a healthy mortgage lending environment, and it is
- 23 indeed appropriate to recognize its important contributions on this
- 24 occasion; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2661

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the 50th anniversary of the
- 3 establishment of the Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage
- 4 Lending and extend to its staff sincere best wishes for continued
- 5 success; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the department as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Truitt

H.R. No. 2661

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2661 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House