RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Nina Blackburn Ferguson of Robinson passed away on
- 2 May 9, 2011, at the age of 92, leaving her loved ones to cherish
- 3 their many happy memories of time spent in her company; and
- WHEREAS, Born in Chilton to Prince and Bessie Blackburn on
- 5 September 9, 1918, the former Nina Blackburn grew up in the Waco
- 6 area, graduating from Waco High School in 1938; she married Harold
- 7 G. Ferguson in 1941, and they raised two sons and enjoyed a
- 8 rewarding relationship until Mr. Ferguson passed away; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Mrs. Ferguson worked for the Southwestern Bell
- 10 Telephone Company, James Connally Air Force Base, and 12th Air
- 11 Force Headquarters; she was involved in the opening of Waco's first
- 12 nutrition and vitamin store in 1970, and she took great enjoyment in
- 13 cooking and genealogical research; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Nina Ferguson lived a rich and purposeful life
- 15 centered around her faith and her family, and she will long be
- 16 remembered with deep affection by all who knew her; now, therefore,
- 17 be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Nina Blackburn
- 20 Ferguson and extend sincere sympathy to the members of her family:
- 21 to her sons, Craig Ferguson and his wife, Willene, and Keith
- 22 Ferguson and his wife, Betty; to her grandchildren, Brian Ferguson
- 23 and his wife, Jennifer, Lisa Herr and her husband, Karl, Allen
- 24 Ferguson, and Lauren Ferguson; to her sisters, Donna McCahon, Jewel

H.R. No. 2672

- 1 Copeland and her husband, Newman, and Mary Soules and her husband,
- 2 Fred; and to her other relatives and friends; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 5 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Nina
- 6 Blackburn Ferguson.

Anderson of McLennan

H.R. No. 2672

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2672 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 30, 2011.

Chief Clerk of the House