By: Kolkhorst

H.R. No. 2694

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Industry State Bank is celebrating its centennial in
2011; and

3 WHEREAS, In early February 1911, a group of civic leaders established the First Guaranty State Bank of Industry with 39 4 5 shareholders; two weeks later, they accepted a bid of \$685 for the construction of a building, and the new bank opened on June 1, 1911, 6 with one full-time employee, H. L. Schulze, who was assisted on a 7 part-time basis by H. H. Boelsche; by September 4 of that year, the 8 9 bank had already made more than 40 loans, and in 1913, it paid its first dividend; reflecting the end of the state's Guaranty Fund, 10 11 the bank's name was changed in the 1920s to Industry State Bank, and 12 it continued to grow with the community; Mr. Schulze would ultimately lead the bank for 15 years, while his successor, Mr. 13 14 Boelsche, would manage the bank for three decades; and

WHEREAS, Arno Krebs became the bank's third president in 15 16 1956; the original building was replaced the following year, and in 1973 a new building was dedicated at the present-day site of the 17 bank, at the northeast corner of Highways 159 and 109, and through 18 the years, it has been expanded several times; James Lindemann 19 20 succeeded Mr. Krebs as president of the institution in 1988, and the 21 next year the bank acquired New Ulm State Bank as its first branch; Industry State Bank also acquired three insurance agencies, and 22 23 today it ranks fifth in commissions for bank-owned insurance agencies in Texas; in 1993, the bank formed a holding company, 24

82R32071 BPG-D

1

H.R. No. 2694

1 Industry Bancshares Inc., which now includes five bank charters 2 operating banking facilities in 15 Central Texas communities and 3 has assets of more than \$1.5 billion; and

WHEREAS, Among the notable leaders who have contributed to the bank's success through the years has been Jay C. Buenger, who retired from its board of directors in 2004 after 46 years, 14 of which he served as chair; Ervin Mieth, Jr., served as the bank's fifth president after the role of Mr. Lindemann changed to board chair over the five bank charters; and

10 WHEREAS, For the past century, Industry State Bank has been a 11 mainstay of the community, and under the skilled leadership of 12 current president James Doak Hartley, who has led the bank since 13 2010, it continues to provide essential financial services to local 14 residents and businesses; now, therefore, be it

15 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 16 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of the 17 founding of Industry State Bank and extend to all those associated 18 with that institution sincere best wishes for continued success; 19 and, be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for Industry State Bank as an expression of high regard by 22 the Texas House of Representatives.

2