By: Alonzo H.R. No. 2695

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Dallas Mavericks will compete for the 2011 NBA

2 championship after defeating the Oklahoma City Thunder in the

3 Western Conference Finals; and

WHEREAS, Led by Dirk Nowitzki, who averaged more than 32

points per game in the series, the Mavericks demonstrated great

6 skill and determination in their quest to return to the NBA Finals

7 for the first time since 2006; and

9

8 WHEREAS, The team's steely resolve was evident in its two

stirring come-from-behind victories over the Thunder to close out

10 the Western Conference Finals; in Game 4, Dallas trailed by 15

11 points with 5:06 left to play but then rallied and eventually won

12 the game in overtime; another rousing comeback followed in Game 5,

13 as the Mavericks overcame a six-point deficit with 4:37 left on the

14 clock to clinch the series with a 100-96 triumph; and

15 WHEREAS, Under the direction of head coach Rick Carlisle, the

16 Mavericks finished the regular season with an impressive 57-25

17 record, entering the playoffs as the Western Conference's

18 third-seeded club; in the opening round, they defeated the Portland

19 Trail Blazers in six games to advance to a semifinal-round matchup

20 with the two-time defending NBA champion Los Angeles Lakers; the

21 Mavericks swept that series in four consecutive games to reach the

22 conference finals against Oklahoma City; and

WHEREAS, In addition to Mr. Nowitzki, the Mavericks roster

24 includes J. J. Barea, Rodrigue Beaubois, Corey Brewer, Caron

H.R. No. 2695

- 1 Butler, Brian Cardinal, Tyson Chandler, Brendan Haywood, Dominique
- 2 Jones, Jason Kidd, Ian Mahinmi, Shawn Marion, DeShawn Stevenson,
- 3 Peja Stojakovic, and Jason Terry; and
- WHEREAS, Winning a conference title is testament to the hard
- 5 work and commitment to excellence that exemplify the Dallas
- 6 Mavericks, and this talented group of competitors may indeed take
- 7 great pride in this impressive accomplishment; now, therefore, be
- 8 it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby congratulate the Dallas Mavericks on winning the
- 11 2011 NBA Western Conference Finals and extend to all those
- 12 associated with the team sincere best wishes for success in
- 13 defeating the Miami Heat and bringing the NBA championship trophy
- 14 home to Dallas; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 17 House of Representatives.