RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The boys' golf team from Del Rio High School won the 2 2011 District 29-5A championship with a victory in the district 3 tournament, held on April 5 and 6 at the Casa Blanca Municipal Golf 4 Course in Laredo; and

5 WHEREAS, En route to their second title in three years, the 6 Rams bested runner-up Laredo United High School by 31 strokes; 7 freshman Abb Cauthorn won the individual title with a score of 147, 8 shooting 71 on the first day and 76 on the second; and

9 WHEREAS, Coach Oscar Cardenas also received outstanding 10 performances from his other golfers; senior Mark Gutierrez finished 11 third with an overall score of 150, junior Albert Rodriguez was 12 fifth at 154, junior Edwin Hyslop, the 2009 and 2010 individual 13 champion, came in seventh with 158, and senior Michael Sondag was 14 eighth, shooting a 161; throughout the year, the Rams also received 15 valuable contributions from seniors Al Lopez and Joshua Cottle; and

16 WHEREAS, Through hard work and an enduring commitment to 17 excellence, the Del Rio High School boys' golf team had an 18 outstanding 2011 season, and these dedicated student-athletes may 19 take justifiable pride in their accomplishments; now, therefore, be 20 it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Del Rio High School boys' golf team on winning the District 29-5A championship and extend sincere best wishes to the team's players and coaches for continued

1

success; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 4 House of Representatives.

Gallego

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2731 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House