RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The life of a distinguished legal scholar and 2 educator drew to a close with the passing of Angus McSwain, dean 3 emeritus of Baylor Law School, who passed away on May 29, 2011; and WHEREAS, Born in 1923, Mr. McSwain graduated from Stephen F. 4 5 Austin High School in Bryan; he enrolled at Texas A&M University but interrupted his studies to serve in the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 6 7 during World War II; following the war, he completed his civil engineering degree at A&M in 1947 and graduated cum laude two years 8 later with his bachelor of laws degree from Baylor, where he was 9 first in his class; he went on to receive a master of laws degree 10 11 from the University of Michigan; and 12 WHEREAS, Mr. McSwain became a professor at Baylor Law School 13 in 1949; he was appointed dean in 1965 and guided the institution 14 for the next 19 years; during his tenure, he maintained the high academic standards that are the hallmark of Baylor Law School and 15 helped to bring in a number of outstanding faculty members; and 16 WHEREAS, After returning to teaching in 1984, Dean McSwain 17 18 became the Governor Bill and Vara Faye Daniel Chair of Property Law, and he received the Master Teacher designation, Baylor's highest 19 teaching honor, in 1990; his official retirement came four years 20 21 later, but this remarkable professor continued to conduct classes 22 until 2008, when he marked his 59th year with the law school; and 23 WHEREAS, A highly respected figure in the Texas legal community, he served as both secretary and chair of the Family Law 24

H.R. No. 2779

- 1 Section of the Texas Bar Association and was the author of numerous
- 2 articles for the Texas Bar Journal as well as textbooks and
- 3 casebooks; in all of his endeavors, he enjoyed the love and support
- 4 of his wife, Betty Ann, who preceded him in death, and his son,
- 5 Andy, who followed in his father's footsteps as a Baylor Law
- 6 graduate; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Angus McSwain influenced generations of Baylor Law
- 8 School students with his unwavering commitment to excellence, and
- 9 his legacy will continue to resonate for years to come; now,
- 10 therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Dean Emeritus Angus
- 13 McSwain and extend deepest condolences to the members of his
- 14 family: to his son, Andy McSwain, and his wife, Chris; to his
- 15 grandson, Stewart McSwain; and to his other relatives and friends;
- 16 and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 19 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Dean Angus
- 20 McSwain.

Hughes Eiland Lewis Kleinschmidt

H.R. No. 2779

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 2779
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2779 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
vote of the House on May 30, 2011.	

Chief Clerk of the House