By: Price

H.R. No. 2786

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Officer Justin B. Graham and Corporal Paul D. Ware 2 of the Amarillo Police Department have been awarded the 2010 State 3 of Texas Law Enforcement Achievement Award for Valor from the Texas 4 Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education; and

5 WHEREAS, On May 15, 2010, Officer Graham and Corporal Ware 6 had just completed their respective shifts when they each heard the 7 call for any available units to respond to an apartment complex 8 fire; arriving at the scene, the two officers learned that a 9 67-year-old woman was trapped inside her apartment; and

10 WHEREAS, Acting quickly and decisively, the officers crawled 11 into the burning apartment and found the woman trapped between her 12 couch and a wall; unable to free her at first, Corporal Ware 13 ultimately was able to turn the couch over, enabling Officer Graham 14 to pull the woman free and extinguish the flames in her hair; and

15 WHEREAS, For their courageous service on that day, the two 16 officers were presented with the Amarillo Police Department's Medal 17 of Valor, which has been awarded to only 10 other officers in the 18 history of the department; and

WHEREAS, Faced with a desperate situation, Officer Graham and Corporal Ware placed themselves directly in harm's way to attempt to save the life of another person, and their selfless heroism and determination to help a fellow Texan in need make them truly deserving of this special recognition; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

1

H.R. No. 2786

Legislature hereby congratulate Corporal Paul D. Ware and Officer Justin B. Graham on their receipt of the 2010 State of Texas Law Enforcement Achievement Award for Valor and extend to them sincere appreciation for their steadfast bravery and unwavering dedication to duty; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Officer Graham and Corporal Ware as an expression of 8 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.