H.R. No. 2796

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The 2011 National Merit Scholarship finalists of the
- 2 Richardson Independent School District have won great distinction
- 3 for themselves and their community; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Students initially qualify as National Merit
- 5 Scholarship semifinalists based on the results of their Preliminary
- 6 SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test; to become
- 7 finalists, they must earn SAT scores that confirm their earlier
- 8 performance, and they must also have an outstanding academic record
- 9 and the recommendation of their high school principal; finalists
- 10 are eligible to receive a National Merit Scholarship; and
- 11 WHEREAS, This year's Richardson ISD National Merit
- 12 Scholarship finalists include Emily Dawson and Roman Milan of Lake
- 13 Highlands High School, Rachel Bressler, Molly Francis, Tatum Frank,
- 14 Bradley Harmon, Zachary Tobin, and Harrison Wallace of Pearce High
- 15 School, and Mark Fulbright, Morgan Funderburk, Rachel MacFarlane,
- 16 and Bailey Myers-Morgan of Richardson High School; and
- 17 WHEREAS, These 12 outstanding young men and women have
- 18 demonstrated exceptional intelligence, initiative, and discipline
- 19 in pursuit of their academic goals, and they may indeed take great
- 20 pride in their achievement; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby congratulate the 2011 National Merit
- 23 Scholarship finalists of the Richardson Independent School
- 24 District and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued

H.R. No. 2796

- 1 success; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the finalists as an expression of high regard by the
- 4 Texas House of Representatives.

Carter

H.R. No. 2796

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2796 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House