H.R. No. 2796

By: Carter

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The 2011 National Merit Scholarship finalists of the
Richardson Independent School District have won great distinction
for themselves and their community; and

WHEREAS, Students initially qualify as National Merit Scholarship semifinalists based on the results of their Preliminary ANATIONAL Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test; to become finalists, they must earn SAT scores that confirm their earlier performance, and they must also have an outstanding academic record and the recommendation of their high school principal; finalists are eligible to receive a National Merit Scholarship; and

11 WHEREAS, This year's Richardson ISD National Merit 12 Scholarship finalists include Emily Dawson and Roman Milan of Lake Highlands High School, Rachel Bressler, Molly Francis, Tatum Frank, 13 14 Bradley Harmon, Zachary Tobin, and Harrison Wallace of Pearce High School, and Mark Fulbright, Morgan Funderburk, Rachel MacFarlane, 15 16 and Bailey Myers-Morgan of Richardson High School; and

WHEREAS, These 12 outstanding young men and women have demonstrated exceptional intelligence, initiative, and discipline in pursuit of their academic goals, and they may indeed take great pride in their achievement; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the 2011 National Merit Scholarship finalists of the Richardson Independent School District and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued

1

H.R. No. 2796

1 success; and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for the finalists as an expression of high regard by the 4 Texas House of Representatives.