H.R. No. 2805

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Honorable Laura Allen and the Honorable Pat Cole
- 2 are ably serving the people of Val Verde County as county judge and
- 3 justice of the peace; and
- WHEREAS, Presently in her first term of office, Judge Allen
- 5 began her tenure in January 2011, following her election the
- 6 previous November as the first female county judge in Val Verde
- 7 County history; previously, Judge Allen also served as Val Verde
- 8 County commissioner for Precinct 3, becoming the first woman ever
- 9 to serve on the Val Verde County Commissioners Court; and
- 10 WHEREAS, As one of her first official duties, Judge Allen had
- 11 the pleasure and privilege of administering the oath of office to
- 12 her mother, the Honorable Pat Cole, who was elected as justice of
- 13 the peace for Precinct 3 in Val Verde County on the same day that her
- 14 daughter was elected county judge; and
- WHEREAS, Prior to her election as justice of the peace, Judge
- 16 Cole had previously served with honor and distinction as a member of
- 17 the Del Rio City Council, in which role Judge Cole put a premium on
- 18 collaboration, seeking to ensure that all viewpoints were heard and
- 19 that the best ideas were explored; and
- WHEREAS, Together, Judge Allen and Judge Cole were in large
- 21 part responsible for the establishment and organization of the
- 22 modern-day Republican Party in Val Verde County, infusing the party
- 23 with new energy and enthusiasm; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Judge Allen and Judge Cole may be the only

H.R. No. 2805

- 1 mother-daughter team to hold judicial offices in the same county,
- 2 and they take inspiration from each other's work and success and
- 3 take pride in serving the greater Val Verde community with respect,
- 4 dignity, and distinction; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The significant contributions of Judge Laura Allen
- 6 and Judge Pat Cole serve as examples for women everywhere; they are
- 7 helping to make Val Verde County an even better place in which to
- 8 live, and they are to be commended for their dedicated efforts in
- 9 behalf of their fellow citizens; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby honor Judge Laura Allen and Judge Pat Cole on
- 12 their notable public service and extend to them sincere best wishes
- 13 for the future; and, be it further
- 14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 15 prepared for Judge Allen and Judge Cole as an expression of high
- 16 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

## H.R. No. 2805

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 2805		
	Speaker of the House		
I certify that H.R. No. 2805 was	adopted by the House on May 30,		
oy a non-record vote.			

Chief Clerk of the House

2011, by a non-record vote.