By: Watson

S.C.R. No. 53

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION
WHEREAS, Texas is a special place that is widely known for the
independence, friendliness, artistic creativity, strength, pride,
and adventurous spirit of its citizens; and

5 WHEREAS, Texas songwriters, the poets of their time and the 6 symbolic troubadours of our state, reflect in rhythm and rhyme the 7 essence of Texan culture; and

8 WHEREAS, The mission of the Texas Heritage Songwriters' 9 Association is to honor and celebrate Texas songwriters who have 10 played an important role in defining and interpreting Texas' 11 distinctive culture; and

12 WHEREAS, The Texas Heritage Songwriters' Association has, in 13 the interest of cultural preservation, adopted the motto "Music in 14 its purest State" and created and fostered the Texas Heritage 15 Songwriters Hall of Fame; and

16 WHEREAS, The Texas Heritage Songwriters' Association has 17 instituted Homecoming Weekend, held each year in conjunction with 18 Texas Independence Day, as a way to celebrate Texas' rich music 19 culture and unique heritage; and

20 WHEREAS, Texas Heritage Songwriters' Association plays a 21 major role in preserving the future of Texas songwriting through 22 its partnerships with Texas universities in their support of young 23 songwriters; it further protects our musical heritage by 24 encouraging our universities to collect and archive the works of

1

S.C.R. No. 53

1 Texas songwriters; and

2 WHEREAS, The Texas Heritage Songwriters' Association gives 3 back to the community by donating a portion of its proceeds to 4 organizations that support Texas musicians and songwriters; now, 5 therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas 7 hereby recognize the Texas Heritage Songwriters' Association for 8 the important role it plays in fostering and preserving Texas 9 culture; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the Texas Heritage Songwriters' Association as an 12 expression of high regard from the Texas Legislature.