SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 28

In Memory of Ray Clymer

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Wichita Falls in mourning the loss of Ray Clymer, who died June 21, 2010, at the age of 85; and

WHEREAS, Ray Clymer was born May 18, 1925, in Wichita Falls; when he was a young child, his family moved to Denison, where he attended schools and helped lead his high school debate team to a national championship his senior year; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Clymer served the nation with honor and distinction in the United States Navy during World War II; after the war, he returned to Texas, where he completed his education at Southern Methodist University; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Clymer returned to his native Wichita Falls in 1961 and established Golden Distributing Company; over the course of the next three decades, he played an important role in bringing millions of dollars in development and thousands of jobs to the area; and

WHEREAS, Active in community affairs, Mr. Clymer served on numerous committees and boards, including two terms as chair of the Wichita Falls Board of Commerce and Industry; among his crowning achievements was his work in making the community health care center a reality; and

WHEREAS, A man of courage, strength, and compassion, he gave generously to others, and his wisdom, warmth, and valued counsel will not be forgotten by those who knew him; and

S.R. No. 28

WHEREAS, He was a devoted husband, father, and grandfather, and he leaves behind memories that will be treasured forever by his family and many friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family and friends of Ray Clymer; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Ray Clymer.

Estes

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 19, 2011, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate