SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 65

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Honorable Mark Evans, who ended his tenure as Trinity County Judge on December 31, 2010, after 16 years of loyal service; and

WHEREAS, Mark Evans was first elected Trinity County Judge in 1994; he served four terms and did not seek further reelection to the position; he is a descendant of early settlers of Trinity County and the son and grandson of former Trinity County sheriffs; and

WHEREAS, He is a graduate of Groveton High School and Sam Houston State University, where he earned a bachelor of business administration degree; prior to being elected Trinity County Judge, he worked nine years for the Texas General Land Office; and

WHEREAS, While serving as County Judge, Mark Evans held numerous leadership positions with professional associations, committees, and boards; in 2003, he was awarded the Silver Bucket for distinguished service to East Texas by the Deep East Texas Development Association; and

WHEREAS, Among the highlights of his distinguished career are his handling of the recovery from Hurricanes Rita and Ike, his obtaining a \$5 million grant to restore the Trinity County Courthouse, and his understanding and oversight of federal funds that led to his catching an accounting error that resulted in an additional \$1 million for the county and for local schools; and

WHEREAS, A highly respected jurist and consummate professional, Mark Evans earned the respect and admiration of his colleagues and the citizens of Trinity County, and he will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend Mark Evans for his exemplary service as Trinity County Judge and extend to him best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Ogden

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 24, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate