## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 69

WHEREAS, Wounded Warrior Day pays tribute to the courageous Americans who have suffered harm while serving our nation in the military, and this occasion provides a welcome opportunity to honor First Sergeant Ruperto Cruz, Jr., of San Antonio, who made just such a sacrifice during the Vietnam War; and

WHEREAS, Born in McAllen in 1946, Ruperto Cruz was employed as a migrant worker during his youth, and he joined the United States Army in 1964, just as the conflict in Southeast Asia was escalating; initially a member of the 1st Cavalry Division, he later transferred to the 5th Infantry Division and took part in operations in Vietnam in 1965, 1966, 1968, and 1969; and

WHEREAS, While on a reconnaissance mission in conjunction with the 3rd Marine Division, this brave soldier was wounded in combat; he eventually was able to return to active duty and spent 20 years in the army, retiring at the rank of first sergeant; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Cruz moved to San Antonio after concluding his service and began a second career with the United States Postal Service, from which he has since retired; in all his endeavors, he enjoys the love and support of his wife, Gloria, and he is the proud father of two sons, Ruperto Cruz III and Juan Carlos Cruz; and

WHEREAS, Ruperto Cruz, Jr., served his country with unfailing valor and patriotism, embodying the highest ideals of the United States Armed Forces, and he is indeed deserving of his fellow citizens' utmost respect and appreciation; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 69

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby recognize the sacrifice and service of First Sergeant Ruperto Cruz, Jr., on the occasion of Wounded Warrior Day and express profound thanks to him in behalf of all Texans; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Sergeant Cruz as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Uresti

Birdwell Carona Davis Deuell Duncan Ellis Eltife Estes Fraser	Harris Hegar Hinojosa Huffman Jackson Lucio Nelson Nichols Ogden	Rodriguez Seliger Shapiro Van de Putte Watson Wentworth West Whitmire Williams
Gallegos	Patrick	Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 24, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate