SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 82

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to honor the City of Laredo and its delegation and to recognize January 26, 2011, as Laredo Legislative Day at the Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Laredo, truly a gem along the Rio Grande, was established in 1755 by Don Tomas Sanchez, and its history offers a compelling tale, as the town was forged by Spaniards, Indians, Mexicans, Texans, and Americans; a dynamic bilingual and bicultural community, it is a true Texas city proud of its Mexican roots, making it a unique city under seven flags that daily celebrates its dual historical and cultural ties; and

WHEREAS, Situated on the banks of the Rio Grande, Laredo is now the 10th-largest city in Texas and the largest inland port on the southern United States border; it is one of the top four ports-of-commerce in the nation, and in 2010, the city handled 40 percent of all overland trade between the United States and Mexico; and

WHEREAS, Education plays a vital role in the life of Laredo, where three institutes of higher learning have almost 110 years of combined experience; Laredo Community College, first established in 1947 on the 100-year-old grounds of the historic Fort McIntosh, boasts two campuses to better serve the entire city; Texas A&M International University has been educating local Laredo leaders for the last 40 years; and the Laredo Extension Campus of The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio thrives with students, who benefit from new interlocal agreements that give medical students practical experience; now, therefore, be it

experience; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby extend best wishes for a celebratory Laredo Legislative Day at the Capitol; and, be it further

Legislative Day at the Capitol; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the citizens of Laredo as a memento of this occasion.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 25, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate