SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 104

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join Texans across the state in celebrating February 1, 2011, as Baylor University Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Established February 1, 1845, by an act of the Congress of the Republic of Texas, Baylor University is the oldest continually operating university in the state; it traces its roots to an 1841 meeting of the Union Baptist Association at which the Reverend William Milton Tryon and State District Judge R. E. B. Baylor offered a proposal to create a Baptist university in Texas; and

WHEREAS, Baylor University has grown to become a nationally ranked liberal arts institution with more than 14,000 students; it offers degrees in 151 areas of study, preprofessional tracks, and specialized academic opportunities; students are able to interact with full-time faculty from their first days on campus; and

WHEREAS, In addition to its rigorous curriculum, the university offers a dynamic and invigorating campus life; from concerts to Big 12 athletics to an active community of faith, students have a wide array of options to complement their academic careers; its students, faculty, and staff annually provide more than 150,000 hours of local community service; and

WHEREAS, For more than 150 years, Baylor University has played a vital role in providing Texans with a firm foundation for future success; it is truly deserving of recognition for its commitment to educational excellence; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 104

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend the students, faculty, staff, and alumni of Baylor University for their many contributions to the progress of our state and extend to the university's delegation a sincere welcome to the State Capitol for Baylor University Day; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as a memento of this special occasion.

Birdwell, Harris, Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 26, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate