## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 106

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texas Parent Teacher Association, who are visiting the State Capitol for Texas PTA Rally Day on February 3, 2011; and

the State Capitol for Texas PTA Rally Day on February 3, 2011; and WHEREAS, The Texas Parent Teacher Association has promoted the welfare of children in Texas for more than 100 years; with more than 600,000 members, it is the largest child advocacy association in the state; and

association in the state; and WHEREAS, In its long history, the association has been involved in the creation of many important policies and programs benefiting the children of Texas, including kindergarten, child labor laws, a juvenile justice system, immunization requirements, and hot school lunches; and

immunization requirements, and hot school lunches; and WHEREAS, Sharon Goldblatt is the current president of the Texas Parent Teacher Association board of directors; she has served the organization in numerous capacities, including as Region IV vice president; she has a 21-year history of volunteering at the elementary school where she joined the Parent Teacher Association, and she is an active volunteer with other groups in her community; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Parent Teacher Association works to ensure every child has the opportunity to fulfill his or her potential and encourages parents, teachers, and volunteers to cooperate in promoting the welfare of children in their homes, schools, and communities; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend members of the Texas Parent Teacher Association for their commitment to Texas' children and extend to all best wishes for an enjoyable Texas PTA Rally Day; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the association as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Shapiro, Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 1, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate