SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 179

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Shannon Schambeau Patterson, the reigning Mrs. Texas America, who is visiting the State Capitol today; and

WHEREAS, After winning the Mrs. Texas America title, Shannon placed in the top six in the Mrs. America pageant last September; she graduated magna cum laude from Saint Leo University, where she earned bachelor's and master's degrees in business administration and the outstanding student award in management and in business; she was chosen as Saint Leo's Distinguished Alumna for the 2008-2009 academic year; and

WHEREAS, Shannon was named Miss District of Columbia in 2005; she was the fourth runner-up in the 2006 Miss America contest and winner of the preliminary lifestyle and fitness award; and

WHEREAS, She has been a dedicated volunteer with the Special Olympics program for more than 18 years and worked for a time with the organization at its international headquarters in Washington, D.C.; she has been on missionary trips to the Dominican Republic and Haiti and has volunteered with the Jimmy Carter Work Project in Valdosta, Georgia, and she has helped build more than 20 houses with Habitat for Humanity; and WHEREAS, Shannon lives in McKinney with her husband, John

WHEREAS, Shannon lives in McKinney with her husband, John Patterson; she is a real estate agent for Keller Williams and a skin-care consultant; a lovely and compassionate person, she is indeed a fine representative of the married women of this state; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend Shannon Schambeau Patterson, Mrs. Texas America 2010, on her many accomplishments and extend to her best wishes for success in all her future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Shapiro

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 7, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate