SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 212

WHEREAS, The celebration of Lufkin-Angelina County Day at the Capitol on February 10, 2011, provides a fitting opportunity to recognize this outstanding part of the Lone Star State and to welcome visitors from the area, including members of the Lufkin Chamber of Commerce and of the Leadership Lufkin Class of 2010 and 2011; and

WHEREAS, Organized in 1846, Angelina County was named for a Hainai Indian maiden who is said to have aided Spanish missionaries living in the area around 1690; the county is situated in the Piney Woods and rolling hills of East Texas, in a region nestled between the Angelina River on the north and Neches River on the south; and

WHEREAS, Since the arrival of the railroads in the 1880s, Angelina County has consistently benefited from a thriving lumber business, and over the years, a variety of other industries have flourished as well, including farming and manufacturing; and

WHEREAS, Residents of Angelina County enjoy a wealth of recreational opportunities; the county is home to the Angelina National Forest, and the region's largest lake, the Sam Rayburn Reservoir, offers superior bass fishing and an outlet for swimming and boating; moreover, the county seat of Lufkin features such compelling attractions as the Texas Forestry

Museum, the Museum of East Texas, and the Ellen Trout Zoo; and WHEREAS, Angelina County has long been an area rich in natural and cultural resources, and it gives the members of this chamber great pleasure to honor the many significant contributions of this fine Texas county to our state; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, 10, hereby recognize February 2011, as Lufkin-Angelina County Day at the Capitol and extend best wishes to the visiting delegation; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in

honor of Lufkin and Angelina County.

Nichols

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 9, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate