SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 224

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Houston Northwest Chapter of National Women of Achievement, Incorporated; and

WHEREAS, The Houston Northwest Chapter is hosting its annual Profiles of Prominence Scholarship Breakfast on February 19, 2011; this year's event honors Houston area pastors for the positive impact they have on their communities; the theme is "Celebrating the HIM in Him"; and

WHEREAS, The 2011 honorees are Pastor Calvin J. Abraham, Pastor John W. Bowie, Pastor Lafayette Chaney, Sr., Pastor Chris A. Jackson, Pastor DeVon D. Jackson, Pastor Robert L. Thomas, Pastor Kevin Washington, Pastor John H. Wilburn, Pastor Byron Wyatt, and Pastor R. L. Thompson, Sr.; and

WHEREAS, The purpose of National Women of Achievement, Incorporated, is to encourage women and young people to strive for excellence in their academic pursuits, maintain high ethical standards, and work hard in whatever professional field they choose to pursue; and

WHEREAS, In addition, the organization pays tribute to those individuals who are high achievers, such as this year's Houston Northwest Chapter scholarship breakfast honorees; its members also provide aid to senior citizens, work with youths and honor their talents, and network with members of other organizations with similar goals; now, therefore, be it

honor their talents, and network with members of other organizations with similar goals; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend the Houston Northwest Chapter of National Women of Achievement, Incorporated, on its many contributions to the community and extend to its members and honorees best wishes on the occasion of their annual Profiles of Prominence Scholarship Breakfast; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for this chapter as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Whitmire

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 14, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate