SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 228

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to welcome the members of the Association of Texas Professional Educators who are visiting Austin on the occasion of Association of Texas Professional Educators Day at the Capitol; and

of Texas Professional Educators Day at the Capitol; and WHEREAS, The Association of Texas Professional Educators is the preeminent educator association in Texas and the largest independent educators' association in the nation; and

WHEREAS, The association is owned and governed by a diverse membership of more than 115,000 people, including all types of public school employees, college students and teacher trainees, retired educators, and members of the general public; and

WHEREAS, Association members are committed to supporting quality public education and the professional rights of the education community while serving as effective, proactive leaders in their field; and

in their field; and WHEREAS, Members are encouraged to be politically active both individually and through their local units and to foster interaction with local legislators and keep them knowledgeable about current educational issues and conditions; and

WHEREAS, Association of Texas Professional Educators Day at the Capitol is intended to facilitate direct interaction between legislators and educators and to engage members of the education community in the legislative process through political involvement training and Capitol visits; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby recognize this day as Association of Texas Professional Educators Day at the State Capitol and extend to association members best wishes for an enjoyable and productive visit to Austin; and, be it further

visit to Austin; and, be it further **RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the association as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 14, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate