## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 258

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the members of the second annual class of Leadership North Texas and welcome them on the occasion of their visit to the Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Leadership North Texas is a graduate-level regional leadership program aimed at developing stewards who have demonstrated a commitment to civic engagement and to finding collaborative ways to address the issues that affect the North Texas area; and

WHEREAS, Over nine program days, participants gain a better understanding of regionalism, the role of health care, the economy, the work force and education, state government, transportation, and sustainable development; and

WHEREAS, Participants meet with other regional leaders and experts to learn about the inner workings of public and private institutions and about how best to contribute their skills and knowledge to better serve the North Texas region; and

WHEREAS, The members of the 2011 class of Leadership North Texas are Jonathan Bazan, Alysia Bell, John Brookby, Susan Campbell, Linda Christie, Gail Cooksey, Brad Davis, Charles Elk, Jan Furtick, Linda Garcia, Matt Gaston, Todd Gottel, Alan Greer, Leah King, Danny Kocurek, Kimberly Lay, Jill Magnunson, Cesar Moncada, Rob Nickell, Bruce Payne, Devang Shah, David Silva, Michelle Thames, Lisa Thierry, Gary Walker, Kathy Wilkins, and Patsy Youngs; and

WHEREAS, Leadership North Texas is an exemplary program designed to ensure that a new generation of leaders will have the knowledge and experience to solve the complex issues that will arise in the future; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend the members of the Leadership North Texas Class of 2011 on their dedication to civic responsibility and to their community and extend to all best wishes for a memorable day at the Capitol; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for these exemplary citizens as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Shapiro

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 22, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate