## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 260

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Dallas Can! Academy, which is celebrating 25 years of helping local at-risk students and has recently opened its newest Dallas Can! Academy at Pleasant Grove; and

WHEREAS, The Dallas Can! Academy provides a second chance for students who are in danger of dropping out of school and helps them get the education and guidance they need to achieve economic independence and hope for a better life; and

WHEREAS, The Dallas Can! Academy was established in 1985 as a program of Freedom Ministries, a nonprofit organization started by Grant East to work with juvenile offenders; the academy served this population with remedial education and expanded its services the following year to include high school dropouts and non-adjudicated youth; and

WHEREAS, In 1988, the name of the organization was changed to Texans Can! to facilitate the expansion of schools to other cities across the state, including Austin, Fort Worth, Houston, and San Antonio; each campus is committed to helping students earn a high school diploma by providing individualized instruction, intense counseling, and small class sizes; and

WHEREAS, The Dallas Can! Academy is a valuable asset to the City of Dallas, the State of Texas, and the many young people who need guidance and counseling to turn their lives around, graduate from high school, and become successful and productive citizens; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend the administrators, educators, and staff of the Dallas Can! Academy and its new Pleasant Grove campus for their efforts to give young Texans a second chance in life and extend congratulations to all on the academy's 25th anniversary; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Dallas Can! Academy as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Shapiro

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 15, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate