SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 344

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Right Reverend Monsignor Stanley Andrew Sliwiak, who is retiring after decades of exemplary service to the people of Texas and the Catholic Church; and

WHEREAS, Monsignor Sliwiak moved to this country from his native Poland after having endured the hardships of World War II; he attended Loyola University, where he overcame numerous obstacles to earn a doctorate in psychology; and

WHEREAS, He served for more than 30 years as a priest in Corpus Christi and Alice; he was named Monsignor by Bishop Rene Gracida on March 22, 1996, and came to Laredo the next year, where he has served as pastor at Blessed Sacrament Church; and

WHEREAS, Through the years, Monsignor Sliwiak has ministered to the temporal and spiritual needs of countless people; he has been a steadfast supporter of education, promoting the success of Blessed Sacrament School and working to expand its programs to include sixth, seventh, and eighth grades; and

WHEREAS, Inspirational and dedicated to helping others, Monsignor Sliwiak has played a vital role in the life of the Laredo community, supporting numerous charitable undertakings; and

WHEREAS, An accomplished scholar and theologian, Monsignor Sliwiak has had a profound influence on the lives of his parishioners, and his presence at Blessed Sacrament Church will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend the Right Reverend Monsignor Stanley Andrew Sliwiak on his dedication, his leadership, and his compassionate work and extend to him best wishes for the retirement years ahead; and, be it further

retirement years ahead; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 22, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate