SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 357

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Apostle Edwin E. Favors and Pastor Ellyn N. Favors on the occasion of their ninth pastoral anniversary at Praise Fellowship Church, which is being celebrated February 13, 20, and 27, 2011; and

WHEREAS, Founded by Edwin E. Favors on April 21, 2002, Praise Fellowship Church has grown through the years and is now able to provide ministries to such diverse organizations as Paul Quinn College, the Potter's House Assisted Living Facility, and the Lancaster Nursing Home among others; and

WHEREAS, Through the years, Apostle Edwin E. Favors has ministered to the temporal and spiritual needs of countless people; in addition to his apostolic duties at Praise Fellowship Church, he serves as director of choral and music activities at Curtistene S. McCowan Middle School in DeSoto and is a member of the Texas Choral Directors Association and the Texas Music Educators Association; and

Educators Association; and WHEREAS, Pastor Ellyn N. Favors is currently serving as pastor of administration after having been minister of youth and young adults; she also serves as director of the Baptist Student Ministry at Paul Quinn College and Cedar Valley College and as president of the Wilhelmina Foundation, a nonprofit organization dedicated to meeting the needs of widows, orphans, and the rural poor; and

WHEREAS, Inspirational and dedicated to helping others, these beloved leaders have devoted their time and energy faithfully to their congregation and community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend Apostle Edwin E. Favors and Pastor Ellyn N. Favors on their dedication to the ministry and extend to them best wishes for a memorable ninth pastoral anniversary celebration; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 23, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate