SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 367

WHEREAS, The Texas Southern University football team won the 2010 Southwestern Athletic Conference championship with a victory over Alabama State University on December 11; and

WHEREAS, Playing at storied Legion Field in Birmingham, Alabama, the Texas Southern University Tigers made a supreme defensive effort in their 11-6 win over the Southwestern Athletic Conference Eastern Division champions, holding Alabama State to just 72 yards of offense and also scoring on a safety in the first half; Texas Southern University got its other points from a Martin Gilbert touchdown run in the first quarter and a Robert Hersh field goal in the second; and

WHEREAS, The Tigers had an impressive 8-1 conference record during 2010 and secured the Western Division title with a thrilling come-from-behind victory over Grambling State University that saw Texas Southern University rally from a 17-point deficit in the fourth quarter; the team held opponents to just 131 points in conference play, the best in the conference; because of its ability to turn up the heat on opponents, the defense became known as the "212," in reference to the boiling point of water; and

WHEREAS, Marcus Wright and Charles Smith were named to the all-conference first team on offense, while Skylar Trimble and Kirk Fitzhugh made the second offensive team, and William Osborne was selected to the second team for his special teams play; on the defensive side of the ball, Marquis Jackson, Jonathan Hollins, Zack Gallow, and Dejuan Fulman were first-team all-conference, and Shomari Clemons was named to the second team; Mr. Fulman was named the conference's Defensive Player of the Year, and Johnnie Cole was chosen as its Coach of the Year after leading the school to its first Southwestern Athletic Conference title in 42 years; and

WHEREAS, Through hard work and an enduring commitment to excellence, the Texas Southern University football team achieved an admirable level of success during 2010, and these skilled athletes and their coaches may take justifiable pride in this accomplishment; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby congratulate the Texas Southern University football team on winning the 2010 Southwestern Athletic Conference championship and commend the players and coaches for their fine work during a title-winning season; and, be it further

S.R. No. 367

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 28, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate