## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 387

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes great pride in recognizing the honorees of the 2011 Texas Medal of Arts Awards; and

WHEREAS, The honorees were selected by the Texas Cultural Trust for their outstanding talents and for their exceptional contributions to the artistic disciplines in the Lone Star State; the arts enrich and broaden the lives of our citizens, and each of these honorees has played a significant role in that capacity; and

WHEREAS, Barbara Smith Conrad, a mezzo-soprano of international fame and a civil rights icon, received the Lifetime Achievement award; Robert M. Edsel, an author and the founder of the Monuments Men Foundation for the Preservation of Art, received the Literary award; Thomas F. Staley, a renowned educator and the director of the Harry Ransom Center at The University of Texas at Austin, received the Art Education award; and James Drake, an internationally acclaimed artist with works in the permanent collections of over 30 museums around the world, received the Visual Arts award; and

WHEREAS, The Alley Theatre, an internationally recognized company and a recipient of the Tony Award, received the Theatre award; H-E-B, a major grocer with stores throughout the state and a longtime supporter of the arts in Texas, received the Corporate award; Bob Schieffer, longtime CBS news anchor and chief Washington correspondent, received the Television award; and Ray Benson, the nine-time Grammy-winning front man of the Western swing band Asleep at the Wheel, received the Multi-Media award; and

WHEREAS, Ernest and Sarah Butler, major donors to numerous local arts organizations and to The University of Texas at Austin School of Music, received the Individual Patrons award; Marcia Gay Harden, the Oscar-winning actress with roles in such films as Pollock and The First Wives Club, received the Film-Actress award; Bill Paxton, the four-time Golden Globe nominee and a star in the hit series Big Love and in Apollo 13 and Titanic, received the Film-Actor award; and ZZ Top, the legendary rock band that has sold over 50 million albums worldwide with eight Top 40 hits, received the Music award; and

WHEREAS, These honorees have contributed greatly to the rich cultural heritage of our state, and they have the deep admiration and esteem of citizens across our state; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend the recipients of the 2011 Texas Medal of Arts Awards on their outstanding achievements and their dedication to the advancement of the arts in Texas; and, be it further

S.R. No. 387

 $\tt RESOLVED$  , That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in their honor and as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Seliger

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 28, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate