## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 409

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the members of the Texas Federation of Republican Women on the occasion of their visit to the Capitol on March 3, 2011; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Federation of Republican Women is one of the largest women's political organizations in the country; organized in 1955, 17 years after the National Federation of Republican Women was formed, it is widely recognized for its effectiveness in the election of Republican Party candidates to city, county, state, and national offices; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Federation of Republican Women spend countless hours researching issues and working on behalf of Republican Party candidates; they also dedicate their efforts in support of community service projects and other worthy causes; the organization's officers for the 2010-2011 year are Rebecca Bradford, president; Carolyn Hodges, first vice president-special events; Betty J. Hill, vice president-bylaws; Jeanette Sterner, vice president-campaign activities; Marilyn Davis. vice president-finance; Barbara Larson. vice president-legislation; Jan Ott, vice president-membership; Rebecca Williamson, vice president-programs; Linda Schenck, secretary; Cynthia England, treasurer; and Toni Anne Dashiell, immediate past president; and

WHEREAS, Through the commitment, hard work, and dedication of federation members, women of all ages, ethnic groups, and backgrounds have an increased awareness of political issues and have recognized their importance in the political process; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 409

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, hereby commend the members of the Texas Federation of Republican Women for their exemplary accomplishments and proclaim March 3, 2011, Texas Federation of Republican Women Legislative Day at the State Capitol; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for this organization as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nelson, Huffman, Shapiro

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 1, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate